Nurse Kitty’s Origami Nurse Cap

Modelling the Nurse Cap

At first I modelled the nurse hat similarly to a typical nurse cap shape at the same time I started modelling my characters, so I wasn’t thinking about how I would fold the hat using origami techniques.

Here is my first nurse hat attempt:

I made the nurse cap round and cute with the intention of making it simple like the character style. Then I decided to remodel the cap similarly to how the nurse caps looked and choose between the two caps to be used as the prop.

Here is my second nurse hat attempt:

I asked my supervisor which one he liked best and he liked the first one better whilst I liked a bit of both of the models. I liked the front shape of cap 2 and the pudginess of cap 2. However, as mentioned before my supervisor suggested that the characters could be made using origami techniques so children and visitors at the end of year show could make the characters for themselves.

Origami Hats

I started looking into origami hats and at first they weren’t what I was looking for. They were too pointy and basically not the shape I was looking for.

Then I came across the ‘crown origami hat’ and with just a little adjustment it would be perfect.

Crown Origami Hat

Crown Origami Hat

To make my nurse cap I will fold in three of the flaps and slightly fold the tip of the last flap to make it more rounder. I will upload my origami nurse cap soon.

My 3D Model

Here is how the remodelling turned out:

About fluffymarshmallow

Love art. Love cute. Love sweets. Love marshmallows. ^.^

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

